Agar Agar or Kanten or Chinagrass or 100% Vegetarian Gelatine Powder Description: Derived from red seaweed, this natural thickener is mainly used as a gelling agent in desserts, puddings, pie fillings, and aspics. White and semi-translucent, it is sold in packages as washed and dried strips or in powdered form. It acts as a vegetarian alternative to animal-derived gelatin. This is perfect for vegans and vegetarians, both. Not only Agar Agar is a very strong gelling agent, it has no residual flavour or fragrance what so ever – making it a perfect choice for making your favourite desserts and jellies! We will ship the product in a handy plastic container.Agar has been used as an ingredient in desserts throughout Asia, and also as a solid substrate to contain culture media for microbiological work. Agar can be used as a laxative, an appetite suppressant, a vegetarian substitute for gelatin, a thickener for soups, in fruit preserves, ice cream, and other desserts, as a clarifying agent in brewing, and for sizing paper and fabrics.